Did you know dogs can sneeze backwards???

Mossy - Our Lovey Dove

Well, I sure didn’t until I heard Mossy doing it one day last week. Over and over again he would inhale through his nose. It’s the strangest sound I have ever heard. None of my other dogs have ever done it. It kind of freaked me out.

I thought maybe that there was something stuck up in his nose and he was trying to get it out through his sinuses. I rubbed it carefully trying to help him. When I called the Vet and explained what I had witnessed they said that it’s normal and probably allergens in the air.  If it persisted for more than 5-10 minutes at a time and several times a day that I should bring him in for allergy medication. After his little episode I gave him his favorite treats and he went on his merry way like nothing happened.

Well, he hasn’t done it that often since so I am not too worried about it. But, boy if you haven’t heard it before, it’s an eye opener.  Here is a video from North Carolina State University College of Veterinarian Medicine showing this reverse sneezing.

Leave a comment